Franklin County Vermont Marriage Records

Search For Marriage Records

NameAddressCityStateZip CodePhone Number
Franklin County Clerk Offices
Franklin County Clerk5167 Main StreetFranklinVT5457802-285-2101
Franklin County Clerk45 Kingman StreetSt. AlbansVT5478802-527-5560
Franklin Town Clerk5167 Main StreetFranklinVT5457802-285-2101
Bakersfield Town Clerk40 East Bakersfield RoadBakersfieldVT5441802-827-4495
Fairfax Town Clerk67 Hunt StreetFairfaxVT5454802-849-6111
Highgate Town Clerk2996 Vermont 78HighgateVT5459802-868-4697
Montgomery Town Clerk98 Main StreetMontgomeryVT5471802-326-4719
Richford Town Clerk94 Main StreetRichfordVT5476802-848-7751
Sheldon Town Clerk1640 Main StreetSheldonVT5483802-933-2524
St Albans Town Clerk579 Lake RoadSt. AlbansVT5478802-524-2415
Franklin County Town & City Halls
Enosburg Falls Town Hall239 Main StEnosburg FallsVT5450802-933-4421
Fairfield Town Hall25 North RoadFairfieldVT5455802-827-3261
Georgia Town Hall47 Town Common Road NorthSt. AlbansVT5478802-524-9794
Montgomery Town Hall98 Main StreetMontgomeryVT5471802-326-4719
St Albans City Hall100 North Main StreetSt. AlbansVT5478802-524-1500
St Albans Town Hall579 Lake RoadSt. AlbansVT5478802-524-7589
Swanton Town Hall1 Academy StSwantonVT5488802-868-4421
Franklin County Marriage License Offices
Franklin Marriage License5167 Main StreetFranklinVT54572852101
Bakersfield Marriage License40 East Bakersfield RoadBakersfieldVT54418274495
Berkshire Marriage License4454 Water Tower RoadBerkshireVT54509332335
Fairfax Marriage License12 Buck Hollow Rd.FairfaxVT5454849-6111
Fairfield Marriage License25 North RoadFairfieldVT54558273261
Georgia Marriage License47 Town Common Road NorthSt. AlbansVT54785243524
Highgate Marriage License2996 Vermont 78HighgateVT54598684697
Montgomery Marriage License98 Main StreetMontgomeryVT5471326-4719
Richford Marriage License94 Main StreetRichfordVT54768487751
Sheldon Marriage License1640 Main StreetSheldonVT54839332524
Swanton Marriage License1 Academy StreetSwantonVT54888684421
Franklin County Marriage & Divorce Records Databases
City of Saint Albans City Clerk's Office Website
Enosburg Falls Village Clerk Website
Fairfax Town Clerk Vital Records
Fairfield Town Bent Northrop Memorial Library Database
Franklin County Burial Records
Georgia Town Clerk and Assistant Treasurer's Office Website
Saint Albans City Clerk Website
St. Albans Free Library Database
St. Albans Town Clerk Website
Swanton Town Clerk Website
Town of Highgate Website
Married Couples10,128 (54.3%)
Unmarried Couples1,362 (2.8%)
Never Married Men6,069 (31.0%)
Never Married Women5,040 (25.0%)
Separated Men329 (1.7%)
Separated Women215 (1.1%)
Widowed Men588 (3.0%)
Widowed Women1,658 (8.2%)
Divorced Men2,127 (10.9%)
Divorced Women2,520 (12.5%)

How to Search Marriage Records in Franklin County

Marriage Records in Franklin County, Vermont can be obtained from the Office of Vital Records. This is the main office responsible for the maintenance of state vital records. In most states, marriage records are considered public information and can be freely obtained. In some states like Franklin County, marriage records are not considered public information because they are kept confidential. However, these records can still be requested from the Office of Vital Records and they will still process your request.

It is best to obtain marriage records from the county clerk in your area. If you are unsure about this, you can contact them through their toll free number or by mail. In Franklin County, the county clerk usually has the procedure on how to request these records. You will need to fill out a formal application form that you can also download from the county’s website.

After you filled out the application, wait for seven to ten days for the records to be mailed to you. You can also go directly to the county office where the marriage records are stored. There is usually one person who will handle your request, however if there are two people involved, the two should ask for a duplicate of the same documents. Once you received the records, check them over carefully to make sure all the names are correct. If you notice any errors, notify the office immediately.

State laws require the couple to fill out an affidavit stating why the request is being made for. The spouse requesting the record must also sign the affidavit. Franklin County does not have a central record of these affidavits. Therefore, the state requires you to fill out these forms separately. Marriage records are maintained separately from other records in the state and are not supposed to be shared with anyone. If you intend to get divorce records or anything similar to that, you will need to go to the Vital Records Office in New York or the county office in Rutland before you can legally obtain that information.

The next step is to go online and search for Franklin County marriage records. It is best to go to a site that offers you all the information you need to make the search fast and easy to do. If you know the names of the couple, you can use a site that offers you information about their parents and other relatives as well.

If you know more than one name, you can use more than one search engine to find information. Many of the sites allow you to enter just one set of information and then another search will retrieve all the other names included. If you know enough information about the couple, you may be able to find more information on the history of the marriage. That information can often help make your search much easier. The process of searching for and finding Franklin County marriage records can be very easy and it is worth the effort.